//
you're reading...
Home, Seoul, South Korea, Travel Articles

Strange Statue in Nami Island

Strange Statue in Nami Island

Ok, I did not want this topic mixed in with my main Nami Island post so I am posting this in a separate post. This serves as a somewhat funny warning/heads up for those who visit Nami Island. In the entire island, I have not seen a larger or stranger statue than the one in the picture. By large, I mean it was taller than some of the shops I’ve seen in Nami.

The funny thing is that you can not miss it because it was put up at one of the hot spots of Nami Island and next to the main pathway for visitors. There were even children playing at the base of the statue.

There I was, taking  a photo of a statue of the Winter Sonata’s lovers. Then I looked to the left to find my family and I was like whoa….

To be honest, I had a good laugh when I saw it and when I asked my tour guide ( he was a native by the way) , he said South Korea has a long history of erecting rather provocative statues especially near parks and told me this was rather mild in comparison with some of the other statues he had seen.

It was actually pretty funny to watch the reactions of the tourists passing by. Some where staring at it with the expression “why is this here?” on their faces, others were carefully averting their eyes away from it and there were others, usually mothers, who steered their children away once they realized what the statue was.

My brother was totally blindsided and said it was like a ” Got Milk” ad gone wrong. Lol. I agreed with him.

About adminsarah

I am a cat lover who has 2 cats named Mojo and Jojo as well as a serious collector of vintage diecast cars.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Current Status

Will try my very best to write a post a day for a week. After that, I'll slowdown to 3-4 posts a week. Wish me luck!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Tool

Archives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Jessica Korteman

Dedicated to all things travel, Notes of Nomads is your go-to travel guide for real on-the-ground accounts, tips, advice, reviews and photography.

I Live In Korea

Everything a tourist needs to know

